Hide your visit

Websites, links and web pages that you visit are stored in temporary folders on your computer's hard drive.

People might be able to see which websites you have visited by viewing the files in these temporary folders on your computer.

If you don't want people seeing which websites you've visited, you need to:

  • Delete all temporary internet files from your computer's hard disk
  • Delete all web links in your history folder

Internet Explorer

  1. Go to the menu bar at the top of the page. Select 'Tools', then 'Internet Options'.
  2. Under 'Browsing history', select 'Delete'
  3. Then, under 'Temporary Internet Files', select 'Delete files...'
  4. Under 'Temporary Internet Files', select 'Delete Files'
  5. It will say: "Are you sure you want to delete all temporary Internet Explorer files?" Select 'Yes'.
  6. Then, under 'History' of the same screen above, select 'Delete history...'.
  7. It will then ask you: "Are you sure you want to delete your history of visited websites?" select 'Yes'.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Go to the menu bar at the top of the page. Select 'Tools' then 'Clear Private Data...'
  2. Got to 'Tools', then 'Clear Private Data'
  3. Select which items you want to clear.
  4. Then select 'Clear Private Data Now'.

Google Chrome

1. Click the wrench icon  on the browser toolbar.
2. Select Tools.
3. Select Clear browsing data.
4. In the dialog that appears, select the “Clear browsing history” checkbox.
5. Use the “Clear data from this period” menu to select the amount of data you want to delete. Select Everything to clear your entire browsing history.
6. Click Clear browsing data.
Mac users: If you don’t see the wrench icon, you can go to the menu bar at the top of your screen and select Chrome > Clear Browsing Data to open the Clear Browsing Data dialog.

When you clear your entire browsing history, the following information is removed from Google Chrome and your computer:

  • Web addresses you’ve visited, listed on the History page
  • Cached text of pages you’ve visited
  • Snapshots of your most frequently visited pages on the New Tab page
  • Any IP addresses pre-fetched from pages you’ve visited

Safari

1. Launch Safari  and click the Settings button in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Select Reset Safari… from the drop-down list.
2. From here you can clear, delete or reset much of the information that Safari automatically stores. Click your cursor in the box only next to the items in the menu you want to delete, clear or reset. Click the Reset button when you’re finished.
3. The history of your website visits has now been successfully cleared.